The Quasdorf Blacksmith and Wagon Museum is located across the street from the Iowa Welcome Center. Built in 1899, the shop operated continuously until 1990 when the owner Frank Quasdorf willed it to the Dows Historical Society. The restored building is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Displays include machines, tools, belt-driven and electric welding equipment, original wagon wheels, blacksmithing items, a forge and huge bellows. Nearly all the equipment and tools are the originals used through the years by the Quasdorfs. During the annual Dows Corn Days celebration in August, a blacksmith is in residence demonstrating how the work was done.
Belts and pulleys move through the unique thick plank floor to the large motors in the basement. The upper floor was used to make wagons, wagon wheels, and wooden equipment. This is one of the best-equipped blacksmith shops in the Midwest. There is no admission charge for self-guided or guided tours.
Please contact the Dows Historical Society for group tour information